Kubrick Marvel Super Heroes Series 2 – The Punisher


When I was young, I used to collect comics, and one of my favourite comics then was Marvel’s The Punisher. The Punisher, whose name is Frank Castle, is a vigilante who is out to seek revenge against the mobs for killing his wife and son. He possesses no special abilities, but relies primarily on his fighting skills and weapons proficiency which he honed during his stint in the Army. 

Yup! That's me!

Guess my a** is just not as nice as the other Kubricks.

Thinking back, the Punisher series wasn’t that great and there was usually nothing spectacular about either the resident artist or the storyline. I still remember there was previously some ridiculous storyline in the regular series about the Punisher becoming Cage or something like that. That was the last straw, and being the intellectual 17 year old that I was then, I decided to stop buying Punisher comics and move on to other better hobbies (like ogling at girls). 

Anyway, this Punisher Kubrick was one of the earlier Kubricks that I bought in 2004, and it looks fine on its own. However, as per the Punisher’s comic book, it pales in comparison if you start comparing it to other Kubricks. This is partly due to some issues with the figure. 

Slop on the arms...arms...arms...

Yes! If you look closely, there is quite a bit of slop in the paint job (especially around his hands and legs). As per the Jack Sparrow Kubrick in my earlier post, my Kubrick figures seem to have an affinity to drunkard painters with shaking hands. No offense to the drunkards out there, but I would suggest that if you know you are a drunkard with shaking hands, then perhaps you should not seek employment as a toy painter. Especially not a toy painter who paints my type of toys. 

However, my biggest complaint about this figure is the fact that the gun that came along with the figure was sculpted in such a manner that the figure cannot hold the gun properly at the grip (hand too big, grip too small). I mean what is the issue with Medicom for making such a gun? Why make a gun that the figure cannot hold properly? There isn’t even a holster to holster this flawed gun. I mean, you might as well give him micro chopsticks with a bowl of chow mien that he also cannot hold right? 

Give me a chow mien over this gun!

Anyway, the only way the figure can hold the gun properly is at the top of the gun. While I am no expert in firearms, last I recall, guns are fired by holding on to the grip and pulling the trigger rather than holding to the top of the gun. Maybe it’s a new technology that I am not aware about. 

Em...there's something wrong with this gun. It's just not firing when I'm holding it this way.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment