Kubrick X-Men 2 – Wolverine (DVD Version)


Was sorting through my CD racks the other day and came across the DVD for the movie X-men 2 which I had bought previously, but didn’t have the chance to get down to watch. Being the impatient man that I am, I just sometimes don’t have the patience to sit down to watch a show for a few hours (ok, don’t ask me why I have the patience to type this crap blog or why I even bought the DVD. That’s besides the point). 😛

Anyway, looking at the DVD brings to mind the Kubrick Wolverine figure which I had bought previously from a shop in Peninsular Shopping Centre (which has since closed down) some time back.

Helloo baby. Anyone home?

This Kubrick is actually a give-away for buying the X-men DVD in Japan and was released in end 2003.  It uses the same scupt as the Wolverine (movie edition) and the Kubrick Marvel Super Heroes Wolverine from Series 4 (without the shoulder padding). The differences are basically in the paint department and this figure differs from the Wolverine (movie edition) in that this is based on the X-men 3 attire rather than X-men 2.

Here's the X-men 3 Wolverine attire...

Here's the Kubrick attire. Looks similar yeah?

And here's my back. Notice the "Not for sale" tag?

Looking at the pics, the attire is rather spot-on and the paint job is good overall. Even the facial features does resemble Hugh Jackman from the movies in my opinion. Although, there is some slop within the claws and hands area, I feel that this is acceptable to a certain extent given the way the claws are molded to the hand. However, there is one major issue with this figure which I frankly feel is totally off. Can you spot the problem?

See anything wrong with me? No, it has nothing to do with the lack of armpit hair...

Still can't tell? Hint, its protruding from my hands...

Yes. Its the bloody claws! I mean, look at the claws, the Wolverine claws in the movie are straight blades, not something that resembles a pair of gardening forks like this! Since when did Wolverine become an avid gardener? I seriously don’t see why Medicom can allow this to happen.  While I do not mind a sculpt re-use, Medicom really should have tried to make the claws look more realistic by ensuring that they are screen accurate. DOH!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment